Information about Norway

Citizens of the EU/EEA

Although not a member, Norway is associated with the EU and part of the Schengen area. EU nationals do not require a visa to enter Norway. Of course, a valid passport is strongly recommended!

Non-EU/EEA citizens

All Non-EU citizens require a visa. However, a visa is not required for visits of up to 90 days in an 180‑day period for nationals of those countries for which the European Community has abolished the visa requirement.

Find out more about your visa requirements at the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration. All necessary information is available there. You may also find this list of Norwegian embassies useful.

Invitation Letter

An invitation letter for the purpose of obtaining a travel visa or permission to attend the meeting will be handed out on request after successful registration for the conference.


Please check for up-to-date weather forecasts. Either click directly on Tromsø or search for Sommarøy.


The official currency in Norway is the Norwegian krone (NOK). You can pay almost everywhere with a common credit card.


English is spoken at a high level by most Norwegians.

Telephone and internet

Norway’s international pre-dial is +47 (0047).
Public places may offer free WiFi Hotspots. Eduroam is supported at universities and airports.


The electrical power supply in Norway is 220 V, 50 Hz, AC.
The official plug in Norway is the Europlug (Type C & F).


Norway’s standard time zone is UTC/GMT +1 hour (Central European Time, CET).


All visitors are advised to have valid international insurance before coming to Norway. Citizens of the EU are insured with their EHIC (European Health Insurance Card).