The conference will be held at UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Teorifagsbygget, House 1, Auditorium 2.

Chair: Caroline Sutton, Taylor & Francis Group, Munin Conference Advisory Board member.

For invited speakers and accepted presentations see Speakers.


Wednesday 22 November

08.30 Registration open; Coffee served
09.00–09.10 Conference opening
09.10–09.40 Opening speech: Kenneth Ruud, UiT The Arctic University of Norway: Institutional transformation towards Open Science: Experiences from UiT The Arctic University of Norway.
09.40–10.40 Keynote: Timothy Gowers, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom: Perverse incentives: how the reward structures of academia impede scholarly communication and good science.
10.40–11.10 Coffee break
11.10–11.40 Graham Stone, JISC, United Kingdom: The Rise of New University Presses and Academic-Led Presses in the UK.
11.40–12.00 Maria Söderholm, Aalto University, Finland: Collaboration in RDM activities – Practices and development at Aalto University.
12.00–12.20 Frédéric Brodkom, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium: Promoting the Open Science culture in university libraries of developing countries: case studies of the French-speaking universities of Belgium cooperation programs in the Global South.
12.20–13.20 Lunch
13.20–14.20 Keynote: Martin Paul Eve, University of London and the Open Library of Humanities, United Kingdom: A Matter of Distribution: APC Logic against Consortial Funding Mechanisms.
14.20–14.50 Niels Stern, Nordic Council of Ministers, Denmark: Landscape Study on Open Access Monographs: Policies, Funding and Publishing in Eight European Countries.
14.50–15.10 Poster presentations in plenum
15.10–16.10 Coffee break with poster exhibition walk
16.10–16.40 Kai Karin Geschuhn, Max Planck Digital Library, Germany: It’s the workflows, stupid! What is required to make “offsetting” work for the open access transition.
16.40–17.10 Jyrki Ilva, National Library of Finland, Finland: Looking for commitment: Finnish Open Access journals, infrastructure and funding.
17.10 End of day 1
18.00 Conference dinner, Restaurant Adelie (on campus)


Thursday 23 November

08.30–09.00 Coffee served
09.00–10.00 Keynote: Sarah de Rijcke, Leiden University, Netherlands: Towards best practices for authorship and research evaluation: Effects of performance metrics and the Leiden Manifesto.
10.00–10.20 Gry Ane Vikanes Lavik, NSD – Norwegian Centre for Research Data, Norway: Whitelists as blacklists – The use of external lists when evaluating scientific journals.
10.20–10.50 Coffee break
10.50–11.20 Federica Rosetta, Elsevier, Netherlands: The reproducibility challenge – what researchers need.
11.20–11.50 Sven Vlaeminck and Ralf Toepfer, ZBW Leibniz Information Centre for Economics, Kiel/Hamburg, Germany: Do Journals in Economics Foster Replicable Research?
11.50–12.10 Susanne Mikki and Marta Zygmuntowska, University of Bergen, Norway: Increased Impact for Open Publishing.
12.10–13.10 Lunch
13.10–13.30 Samir Hachani, University of Algiers, Algeria: Research ideas and outcomes journal (R.I.O.): A novel way to make science.
13.30–14.00 Elena Šimukovič, University of Vienna, Austria: From Green to Gold and back? Adventures and (re)routings on the way to full Open Access.
14.00–14.20 Beate Eellend, National Library of Sweden, Sweden: Coordination of Open Access to Research publications in Sweden.
14.20–14.40 Vanessa Proudman, SPARC Europe, Netherlands: SCOSS: A Global Sustainability Coalition for Open Science Services
14.40–14.50 Closing day 2
14.50 End of conference

Comments are closed.