Archive for category Uncategorized

First Mohn Prize awarded

Report from the Mohn prize award seremony and lectures can be found here

No Comments

Mohn prize 2018 awarded to the team ‘The Meaning of Ice’.

The team The Meaning of Ice og dr. Eddy Carmack, have been named as winners of the International Mohn Prize for excellent research related to the Arctic. The first award winners  in history of the Mohn Prize were announced the 5th of December at Árdna – the Saami Culture House at the University of Tromsø.

Vice chancellor Anne Husebekk opened the session and presented the Prize winners. Preses Synnøve des Bouvrie, Academia Borealis, gave an overview of the background of the Mohn prize. The text can be found in a separate document (Norwegian only).

A video by UiT from the event can be viewed here.

Preses Synnøve des Bouvrie and
Vice Chancellor Anne Husebekk

Jens Ivar Nergård and Synnøve des Bouvrie from Academia Borealis.

No Comments

The Mohn Prize to be awarded January 2018!

Academia Borealis is a proud co-founder of the Mohn Prize together with UiT- The Arctic University of Tromsø and Tromsø Research Foundation. The prize amounts to 2 million NOK (approximately 210 000 €), and is awarded biennially.

A steering committee with three representatives from UiT The Arctic University of Norway (appointed by the board of UiT), two representatives from Academia Borealis – The Academy of Science and Letters of Northern Norway (appointed by the board of Academia Borealis), and one representative from Tromsø Research Foundation (appointed by the board of the foundation) selects the prize winner.

The steering committee makes its decision based on a recommendation from a scientific committee appointed by the steering committee.

We look forward to the announcement of the first prize winner in January 2018!

No Comments