Hello world!

 

We are looking for a new colleague to join our group! Applications for the position in Cognitive Psychology are in and the evaluation committee has started their work. We look forward to welcoming a new colleague to our group sooner than later!

Welcome to the EPIC Cognitive Research Group

Life is mundane, and life is epic. We get that. That’s why we pursue pressing questions related to how we think and learn, and how we use those skills to manage our complex, everyday lives. Our fascinations lead us to exploring how and why thinking and learning make living rich and important, and how and why we sometimes cognitively stumble along the way.

Recent research projects span everything from basic research in metacognition, critical thinking, language comprehension, effective learning, information literacy, and the nature of interest and courage to topics in decision-making in uncertain circumstances, procrastination, youth anxiety, student dropout and delusional thinking. We work with basic and applied research both in and outside the lab. Target populations we have worked with are varied, spanning students, patients, tourists and even, once upon a time, moths.

With our diverse interests we have built a community where we make space for creative collaborations and space for following complementary research interests on our own or with others both within and far beyond UiT. Many of us also have the pleasure of doing research with students from all of our in-house study programs.

Our members and records of their work can be found below. To learn more about their personal interests, check out our members page, as well.

Permanent Faculty

Tove I. Dahl, Professor

Phone: +47 77645456
Email: tove.dahl@uit.no

Jon-André Dalbakk, Senior Advisor

Phone: +47 77620951
Email: jon.a.dalbakk@uit.no

Torstein Låg

Phone: +47
Email:  torstein.lag@uit.no

Elisabeth Norman, Professor II

Phone: +47
Email: elisabeth.norman@uib.no

Frode Svartdal, Professor

Phone: +47 77644345
Email: frode.svartdal@uit.no

Rannveig Grøm Sæle, Associate Professor

Phone: +47 77644852
Email: rannveig.sale@uit.no

 

Research Fellows and Post-Doctoral Fellows

Thor Gamst-Klaussen, Post-Doctoral Fellow

Phone:+47 77620710
Email: thor.klaussen@uit.no

Magnus Ingebrigtsen

Phone:+47 99293800
Email: magnus.ingebrigtsen@uit.no

Ellen Nierenberg

Phone:+47 77644133
Email: ellen.nierenberg@uit.no

Kent Nordby

Phone:+47 77620807
Email: kent.nordby@uit.no

 

 

Research  and Masters Students

Efim Nemtcan

Phone:+47
Email: ene014@post.uit.no

Affiliates

Isabel Kreis

Phone:+47 77645302
Email: isabel.kreis@uit.no

Connie Villemo Nilsen

Jens Andreas Terum

1 Comment