Monthly Archives: January 2014

Best track award at IEEE CoginfoCom conference 2013

The 4th IEEE International Conference on Cogintive Infocommunications (CoginfoCom) was held at Budapest, Hungary from December 2-5, 2013. CogInfoCom research investigates the interrelationship and link among different study fields including cognitive sciences, artificial intelligence, intelligent decision supporting, computer science, information and communication technologies as well as their industrial applications.  With the rapid development of CogInfoCom in recent years, the annual IEEE Cognitive conference has enjoyed tremendous worldwide popularity. This year, altogether 431 authors have contributed publications while 185 presentations and 17 demonstrations were given from more than 120 countries.

Narvik University College (NUC), in cooperation with partners in Sweden – Luleå University of Technology (LTU) and in Finland – Centria University of Applied Sciences in Finland (Centria) has, second year in row, received the best track award. The track “CoginfoCom aided engineering” includes altogether five sessions and presents researches in the fields of engineering, health, and management.

Dr. Wei Deng Solvang, Head of Department of Industrial Engineering, is responsible for this track. Over ten researchers from Narvik University College have participated and published in this conference. The track provided definitely a unique opportunity for researchers from different group to meet and get to know each others’ field. Discussion on future cooperation is already on-going.

Most significantly, five Master students have presented their research project works based on their master thesis or industrial summer jobs – one from Department of Electronic Engineering and four from Department of Industrial Engineering.  “This can be seen as one of the evidences that we are conducting research-based education at master level”, stated Dr. Solvang.

The conference proceeding will be published by IEEE press and indexed by IEEE Xplore and EI compendex shortly after the conference. For more information, please click on the following links.

Information of CoginfoCom 2013:

Information of IEEE CoginfoCom conference:

The winning Team

The winning team (from left):  Yizhong Xu, Silje Camilla Wangberg, Mohamad Yazid F Mustafa, Henrik Nergård (LTU), Åsa Ericson (LTU), Gabor Sziebig, Bjørn Solvang, Moulay Hicham Hakam, Umair Najeeb Mughal, Geanette Polanco Pinerez, Hao Yu, Muhammad Shakeel Virk,  Wei Deng Solvang, Taimur Rashid, Uzair Mughal. Other contributors that are not in the photo, Sakari Pieskä (Centria), Lasse Jansson (Centria), Johan Wenngren (LTU), Elisabeth Roman, Raymond Kristiansen, Dmitry Kokvin, Pavel Krushinitskiy. Frank Haugen, Martin Hansen and Rune Schlanbusch