Information about Norway

Citizens of the EU/EEA

Although not a member, Norway is closely associated with the EU and part of the EEA and Schengen area. EU citizens do not require a visa to enter Norway. Of course, a valid passport is highly recommended.

Non-EU/EEA citizens

Non-EU/EEA citizens require a visa. A visa is not required, however, for visits of up to 90 days in an 180‑day period for nationals of countries for which the European Community has abolished the visa requirement.

Find out more about your visa requirements at the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration. All necessary information is available there. You may also find this list of Norwegian embassies useful.

Invitation Letter

An invitation letter for the purpose of obtaining a travel visa or permission to attend the meeting will be handed out on request after successful registration for the conference.


Please check for up-to-date weather forecasts. Either click directly on Tromsø or search for Sommarøy.


The official currency in Norway is the Norwegian krone (NOK). Cash is rarely used and you can pay almost everywhere with a common credit card.


English is spoken at a high level by most Norwegians.

Telephone and internet

Norway’s international pre-dial is +47 (0047).
Public places may offer free WiFi Hotspots. Eduroam is available at universities and airports.


The electrical power supply in Norway is 230 V, 50 Hz, AC.
The official plug in Norway is the Europlug (Type C & F).


Norway’s standard time zone is UTC/GMT +1 hour (Central European Time, CET).


All visitors are advised to have valid international insurance before coming to Norway. EU citizens are insured with their EHIC (European Health Insurance Card).