Northern saami flag

Welcome to Nanoscopy @ UiT!

As optical nanoscopy has exploded onto the world stage since the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, so too has Nanoscopy @ UiT. Rising up from a (formerly) small integrated optics group, Balpreet Singh Ahluwalia’s ERC starting grant jump-started the Nanoscopy group in 2015. Now jointly headed by Krishna Agarwal, who received her own ERC starting grant for nanoscopy in 2018, the group consists of ~ 20 researchers, students, and visiting scholars from 5 continents. Our team is made up of physicists, computer-scientists, engineers and biologists with research topics stretching from advanced imaging of cells and tissues via image processing to the development of the emerging field of chip-based nanoscopy.


Accessibility statement (in Norwegian)

Accessibility overview: We strive to maintain an accessible website; some linked videos may lack audio descriptions and could be hazardous to those with epilepsy. Feedback regarding the site’s accessibility is welcomed.