Impressions from the Summer School in Uppsala

22 members of the NordCO2 consortium gathered at Uppsala University 1st to 4th of October for a rather late “Summer” School. The first day had the theme of CO2 reduction with lectures from Egill Skulasson (UoI), Ainara Nova (UiO), Torstein Fjermestad (UiO) and Martin Prechtl (RU), as well as a tutorial on microkinetic modeling from PhD student Lluis Artus (UiO). In the afternoon we came together with the ITN network eSCALED with a lecture from our gracious host Leif Hammarström. The next three days we spent together with lectures on H2 evolution from Vincent Artero (CEA) and catalysis, enzymes, water splitting and CO2 reduction from Marc Fontecave (CDF). We spent some time for career development lectures in the afternoon. 


The evening were spent sneaking about in the city center to look at the sights of the historic city and spending time together with new and old collegues and friends.


The last posts on the program were a full day of design thinking together with eSCALEDs partner Dolmen Design, a technical design consultancy and a half day of a practical introduction to computational chemistry by Mårten Ahlquist (KTH)

Autumn School in Uppsala

Autumn School in Uppsala

NordCO2 will have its (rather late) Summer School in Uppsala 1-4th of October. Egill Skulasson, Sascha Ott and Mårten Ahlquist are organizing this and have put together a tentative program. Tuesday and Friday will be NordCO2 specific topics and Wednesday and Thursday will be co-organized with the eSCALED project who are working on artificial photosynthesis

Next year we will organize the summer school on Iceland, as originally was planned for this year.

The Autumn School will be open to everyone, but NordCO2 students will have priority and will have covered travel and accommodation. For registration contact the NordCO2 administrator Yngve 



The program may be found HERE

Steering Committee Meeting

NordCO2 held a Steering Committee meeting on June 20th in Helsinki. Present were Jere Mannisto (HU, student representative), Vidar R. Jensen (UiB), Timo Repo (HU), Kathrin H. Hopmann (UiT), Yngve Guttormsen (UiT), Belen Martin- Matute (SU) and Ainara Nova (UiO). Also present via videolink were Egill Skulason (UoI), Annette Bayer (UiT) …