The 28th Nordic Conference in Mathematical Statistics

The conference has been postponed to June 21 – 24, 2021. We hope to see you in Tromsø next year! 

News 08.05.2020: The conference is postponed to June 2021.

News 23.04.2020:  Unfortunately, the nordstat-conference will not take place in June 2020 as scheduled. This is due to the COVID-19 pandemic which is still very serious and it is currently unclear which restrictions that will apply in June.  We are now considering whether it is possible to postpone the conference (it will not take place this year). We will give an update on this as soon as possible. Participants who have registered for the conference and payed for rooms at the conference hotell will get reimbursed.

News 13.03.2020: Due to the current COVID-19 situation we have updated the registration information and the abstract submission deadline. Currently, we have every intention to organise the conference as scheduled. We will keep you updated on this, hopefully the situation is more clear in the end of April.


The conference will take place in Tromsø, Norway, from June 22 – 25, 2020. The conference venue is Clarion Hotel The Edge, located in the city centre of Tromsø.

SJS lecture:

Yee Whye Teh (University of Oxford and DeepMind)


Confirmed keynote speakers:

Anders Nielsen (DTU AQUA, National Institute of Aquatic Resources)

Ingrid Van Keilegom (KU Leuven)

Marta Blangiardo (Imperial College London)

Tilmann Gneiting (Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies)


Programme committee:

Ingelin Steinsland (chair, Norwegian University of Science and Technology)

Anders Løland (Norwegian Computing Center)

Sigrunn Holbek Sørbye (UiT The Arctic University of Norway)

Sondre Hølleland (University of Bergen)


Organising committee:

Sigrunn Holbek Sørbye (chair, UiT The Arctic University of Norway)

Alf Harbitz (Institute of Marine Research)

Elinor Ytterstad (UiT The Arctic University of Norway)

Georg Elvebakk (UiT The Arctic University of Norway)

Ingeborg Gullikstad Hem (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)




Comments are closed.