Faculty and Postdoctoral Members

Jubin Abutalebi (abutalebi.jubin@hsr.it)
(Google Scholar)

Jubin Abutalebi is a cognitive neurologist and Professor of neuropsychology at the University San Raffaele in Milan, Italy as well as an Adjunct Professor at UiT. His work addresses the cognitive neuroscience of bilingualism, neurolinguistics, and neuroimaging. Jubin is the editor-in-chief of the journal Bilingualism: Language and Cognition

 

Merete Anderssen (merete.anderssen@uit.no)

(Google Scholar)
Merete Anderssen is Professor of English Linguistics at UiT. Her research primarily relates to DP-structure and word order, including work on the acquisition (in monolingualism and bi-/multilingualism) of definiteness, possessives, dative alternation, subject shift, and object shift, as well as residual verb-second.

 

Jon Andoni Duñabeita Landaburu (jdunabeitia@nebrija.es)
(Google Scholar)

Jon Andoni Duñabeita is Professor and the Director of the Centro de Ciencia Cognitiva at Universidad Nebrija, as well as Adjunct Professor at UiT. His work examines the cognitive processes associated with the acquisition of oral and written languages in monolingual and various types of multilingual populations across the lifespan. 


Cécile De Cat (c.decat@leeds.ac.uk)
(Google Scholar)

Cécile De Cat is Professor of Linguistics at the University of Leeds, and an Adjunct Professor at UiT. Her research interests include the interplay between language and cognition in monolingual and bilingual children, the developmental and environmental predictors of bilingual children’s proficiency in the school language, experimental syntax, and language processing in adult bilinguals.

 

 


Khadij Gharibi (khadij.gharibi@uit.no) 
(Google Scholar)

Khadij is currently a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellow at UiT working on her project CLICK on Cross-linguistic influence of different societal languages on the same heritage language. Prior to starting this project, she was a Newton Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Essex, where she conducted a research project funded by the British Academy on the role of attrited input in heritage language development. Her research interests are focused on acquisition, attrition, and maintenance of heritage languages.

 


Gustavo Guajardo (gustavo.guajardo@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Gustavo Guajardo is a Postdoctoral Researcher at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. His work focuses on language variation and change using experimental and corpus data. He is currently working on understanding patterns of dialectal variation combining insights from diachrony and language acquisition.

 


Terje Holmlund (terje.holmlund@uit.no)
(
Google Scholar)

Terje Holmlund is a Postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Clinical Medicine at UiT. His works consists of implementing novel technologies to advance cognitive neuropsychiatry. His clinical and research work has focused on neurodegenerative, psychotic, mood, and substance use disorders.

 


Nadine Kolb (nadine.kolb@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Nadine Kolb is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellow (INPUT: Investigating Proxies for Understanding Trajectories: Heritage Language Maintenance and Child Second Language Acquisition in Refugee Contexts) at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her research focuses on heritage language bilingualism, child second and third language acquisition, especially as regards the interface of linguistic and extra-linguistic factors and their relevance for multilingual education.  


Tanja Kupisch (tanja.kupisch@uni-konstanz.de)
(Google Scholar)

Tanja Kupisch is Professor of Romance Linguistics at the University of Konstanz, as well as an Adjunct Professor at UiT. Her work is primarily concerned with multilingual acquisition, including bilingual child development, adult heritage speakers, adult second language acquisition, bidialectalism, and bilinguals acquiring foreign languages. She is co-editor of the journal Linguistic Approaches to Bilingualism.

Terje Lohndal (terje.lohndal@ntnu.no)
(Google Scholar)

Terje Lohndal is Professor of English linguistics at NTNU Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Adjunct Professor at UiT and co-director of the AcqVA research group.  His work tries to unravel the basic building blocks of human language based on studies of language variation, including how humans acquire, develop, and maintain various grammatical structures in the mind.


Björn Lundquist (bjorn.lundquist@uit.no)

Bjørn Lundquit is an Associate Professor at UiT. His research interests are broad, spanning argument structure alternations, language processing, dialectal variation and change, the syntax-prosody interface, language attrition, and language acquisition, which couple together for a better understanding of the architecture of the human language faculty.


Natalia Mitrofanova (natalia.mitrofanova@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Natalia Mitrofanova is an Assistant Professor of English Linguistics at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her work mainly focuses on language acquisition (first, second, third, bilingual), acquisition of functional categories, the structure of early grammars, syntax, and semantics of locative expressions, grammatical case, and aspect.

 

Gerit Pfuhl (gerit.pfuhl@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Gerit Pfuhl is Professor at the Department of Psychology at UiT. Her work focuses on how information is represented in the brain, and why behavior (sometimes) seems to be suboptimal. More specifically, her work is interested in how we represent uncertainty or the variance of information, respectively. 

 


Yulia Rodina (yulia.rodina@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Yulia Rodina is an Associate Professor of English Linguistics at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her research focuses on first, second, and third language acquisition, child bilingualism, and language change. Her work employs language production, comprehension, language assessment, and processing techniques.


Ludovica Serratrice (l.serratrice@reading.ac.uk)
(Google Scholar)

Ludovica Serratrice is Professor of Bi-Multilingualism at the University of Reading, as well as an Adjunct Professor at UiT. Her research interests include language acquisition and processing in pre-school and school-age children. She co-produces research with teachers and speech and language therapists working with EAL (English as an Additional Language) learners.

 


Deniz Tat (deniz.taz@uit.no)

Deniz Tat is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Postdoctoral Fellow (PATH: Preservation and Adaptation in Turkish as a Heritage Language) at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her research focuses on understanding the ways in which cognitive and external factors play a role in language change and variation, with the goal of elucidating why some language features change rapidly while others are preserved in a bilingual setting. 


Aleksandra Tomic (aleksandra.tomic@uit.no)

Aleksandra Tomic is a Postdoctoral Researcher in Theme 1: MultiLingual Minds and Factors Affecting MultiLingual Outcomes of the AcqVA Aurora Center in the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her research focuses on the psycho/neurolinguistic accounts of sociopragmatic and language use effects on multilingual language processing and acquisition, using a range of data analysis and data collection techniques.

 


Olga Urek (olga.urek@uit.no)
Olga Urek is a Postdoctoral Research in the SALT (Syllable structure: Acquisition, Loss, Typology) project at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her research focuses on syllable phonotactics, phonological complexity, Optimality Theory, feature geometry, and mono- and multilingual acquisition of phonology and morphology. 

 

 

Marit Westergaard (marit.westergaard@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Marit Westergaard is a Professor of English Linguistics at UiT and Adjunct Professor at NTNU. She is the Director of the LAVA research group at UiT and Co-director of the AcqVA research group between UiT and NTNU. Her work focuses on first language acquisition and diachronic change, as well as various types of bi and multilingual acquisition in children and adults. 

Stefanie Wulff (swulff@ufl.edu)
(Google Scholar)

Stefanie Wulff is an Associate Professor of Linguistics at the University of Florida, as well Adjunct Professor at UiT. She is a quantitative corpus linguist, whereby her research is primarily based on analyses of large-scale collections of language production data. She is editor-in-chief of Corpus Linguistics and Linguistic Theory

 

Brechje van Osch (brechje.a.osch@uit.no)

(Google Scholar)

Brechje van Osch is a Postdoctoral Researcher in Theme 2: Multilingual Minds & Crosslinguistic Influence of the AcqVA Aurora Center in the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her research mainly focuses on cross-linguistic influence effects in various types of bilingual populations, including both child and adult heritage language bilinguals, L2 learners, and L1 attriters, using a variety of behavioral and online methods. 

Yanina Prystauka (yanina.prystauka@uit.no)

(Google Scholar)

Yanina Prystauka is a Postdoctoral Researcher in the HeLPiNG (Heritage-bilingual Linguistic Proficiency in their Native Grammar) project at the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. Her work explores the cognitive and neural underpinnings of sentence processing with a special focus on how (heritage language) bilingualism affects the construction of sentence-level meaning representation.


Toms Voits (toms.voits@uit.no)
(Google Scholar)

Toms Voits is a Postdoctoral Researcher in Theme 4: Multilingual Minds & Neurocognitive Adaptations of the AcqVA Aurora Center in the Department of Language and Culture at UiT. His work is primarily focused on investigating the effects of bilingualism on neurocognition, with a particular interest in examining bilingualism as a contributing factor to cognitive and brain reserves in the later years of life.